.

Vos Voter Fraud Complaint Unfounded, Says D.A.

An investigation by the Racine County Sheriff has determined that allegations against Samantha Vos are unfounded.

An investigation by the Racine County Sheriff's Department has determined that voter fraud allegations against Samantha Vos are unfounded.

Racine County District Attorney Rich Chiapete issued a written release Wednesday saying the complaint filed by Eagle River resident Roberta Retrum was unfounded and that Samantha Vos did not violate Wisconsin election law.

Samantha Vos is the estranged wife of Rep. Robin Vos (R-Rochester).

"After a follow-up investigation by the Racine County Sheriff’s Office and after review by the Racine County District Attorney’s Office, it has been determined that the allegations are unfounded and that no violations occurred," Chiapete said in the statement.

Retrum filed a formal complaint Friday with the D.A.'s office alleging that Samantha Vos voted illegally in Wisconsin elections while she was a resident of the State of Idaho.

Included in Retrum's complaint were copies of Samantha Vos' voting record here in Wisconsin showing ballots cast at the same time she swore she was a resident of Idaho on the front page of her motion for legal separation from Robin Vos.

According to Wisconsin state voting laws, residents can live elsewhere, even for long periods of time, as long as they consider Wisconsin their primary residence:

Simply owning a business or temporarily visiting in a city, village or town does not qualify you for voting there if you intend to permanently live somewhere else. Your voting residence is defined as the place where you live, without any present intent to move, and where you intend to return when you are away.

Racine County District Attorney Rich Chiapete agreed.

"As is enumerated in said statute, an individual shall not lose residency when they leave this state with an intent to return. Ms. Vos did not permanently vacate the State of Wisconsin. She was out of the state for temporary purposes with an intent to return. She did not vote in any other state, did not register to vote in any other state, and in all other regards maintained her permanent residence in the State of Wisconsin," he concluded in the written release.

Greg October 03, 2012 at 09:31 PM
Retrum is a loser, again.
James R Hoffa October 03, 2012 at 09:54 PM
Hoffa was right, yet again - no surprises really! SUCK IT blue fisters!!!!
Richard Head October 03, 2012 at 10:14 PM
"According to Wisconsin state voting laws, residents can live elsewhere, even for long periods of time, as long as they consider Wisconsin their primary residence:" So true - when I was in the military I still paid State of Wisconsin income tax - despite living in Colorado. The final straw came for me when Wisconsin punished me by making me pay additional tax for being out of State - at that point I turned in my Wisconsin Drivers License, and since I was in Texas, became a Texas resident. Texas - HAS NO STATE INCOME TAX. (BIG SMILE) I was a Texas resident in Germany. Greece and even Italy! Alas, I came back here, and am now a victim of my own stupidity for returning, but that's a different story...
mau October 04, 2012 at 01:04 AM
How did Retrum access copies of Vos' voting record? "Included in Retrum's complaint were copies of Samantha Vos' voting record here in Wisconsin showing ballots cast at the same time she swore she was a resident of Idaho on the front page of her motion for legal separation from Robin Vos."
Heather Asiyanbi (Editor) October 04, 2012 at 01:52 AM
@mau - a little disturbing, but the elections in which you vote and whether you do it in person or via absentee is public record.
GearHead October 04, 2012 at 03:19 AM
I'd like to know who paid for the gas for this loser to drive 5 hours to showboat her complaint. Sounds like the work of SEIU or other blue-fister types. What a maroon! Not to mention the egg sandwich all over HRG's face for her own misguided opportunism. Perhaps she'll be a little more circumspect next time.
Richard Head October 04, 2012 at 10:02 AM
"Reverse Frontostriatal Connectivity" is the neurobiological term for the Rationalization Hamster: " Women and men differed in the brain mechanisms that enabled self-controlled decisions. During self-control men showed a stronger decrease in some limbic regions than women. An increased frontostriatal coupling helped men to control immediate reward desiring. Women showed the reverse frontostriatal connectivity during a ‘desire-reason dilemma’. Translation: Men use reason to override their feelings. Women use feelings to override their reason. This would help expain why it is difficult to utilize logic to convince a woman of anything. The more you succeed in convincing her, the more she will be inclined to amp up her feelings in order to counteract that success. Applying logic to the science, this suggests a more successful strategy would be to simply skip the logical process entirely and go straight to making an appeal to her emotions. Sound familiar? " http://alphagameplan.blogspot.com/2012/08/men-and-women-difference.html
Fred Dooley October 04, 2012 at 03:50 PM
Still absent from Patch some simple background about the person who brought forth the claim. Not one mention. She is a radical leftist from the fringe hate left with a long history of activism against those who disagree with her. It is fine to advocate your position, this is one of the radical attackers on the left. Why didn't Patch mention this.
Greg October 04, 2012 at 09:43 PM
And I think she lives under a bridge.
a quiet conservative October 04, 2012 at 10:09 PM
Will the same level of investigation be done for the voter fraud within the city of Racine from this past June?
James R Hoffa October 05, 2012 at 12:20 AM
Never happened - the Sheriff's department investigators claimed that without Voter ID, voter fraud was impossible to detect. As for a combination of registration/voter fraud, the investigators stated that they would have to check each and every new registration form and then verify that the elector actually lives where they claimed to live by personally visiting every address listed on the registration forms. As the department didn't have the financial resources to carry out the logistics of such an investigation, the claims were just dismissed without a complete investigation ever being conducted. So, we'll never know if cheating happened in that election or not.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »