.

Delight with a Side of Worry

Today it was announced that over one million signatures were turned over to the GAB to force an election recall of Governor Walker. But I am not ready to celebrate just yet.

One million. Well. Even I was surprised. I thought maybe closer to 750,000 would be the final recall total…but ONE MILLION??!! Wow.

There are, no doubt, a lot of ecstatic people in Wisconsin right now. Thousands of them are in Madison as I type. Ed Schultz is reporting from there this afternoon and tonight. And a march to the GAB office is about to begin. Quite a celebration indeed.

Regardless, I am not doing flips and cartwheels quite yet. And not just because that would probably land me in the hospital. I cannot find it in me to rejoice in this monumental number because I know the rocky road ahead of us. I want to cheer and bust open some champagne like my friends at the Capitol, but I still harbor a great deal of apprehension and fear. For example:

  • Walker’s administration is gathering millions of dollars – much of it from Texas and other states – to fight this recall. And as we all know, sometimes money speaks louder than voices.
  • Walker’s administration is going to tie up the proceedings for as long as they can, hoping the movement will lose its momentum. Lawsuits and complaints are sure to be in abundance.
  • Walker’s administration implemented a Voter ID Law which has basically amounted to a poll tax in the state of Wisconsin. There are countless stories of people who have been denied cards due to the inability to retrieve original birth certificates. Also, while the cards themselves might be free, the hoops to jump through in order to get them are not. Many counties do not have DMVs with reasonable service hours. They will do everything they can to keep the people from voting.
  • Walker’s administration is initiating rumors that petition signers will have their names and info plastered on public websites in order to punish them with threats of privacy invasions.
  • Walker’s administration has tried to push for an early start to the redistricting maps so the numbers will favor them prior to the recall elections.
  • Walker’s administration can afford to invade our living rooms with constant television ads full of his own chest thumping and over blown lies.

They will do anything and everything they can to impede this process and right now, like it or not, they have the reins and the cash. So, no, I cannot bring myself to get overly excited here. I know what these people are capable of and nothing will shock me anymore.

There is one more thing which worries me and that is the same thing that got us here in the first place. Lazy, head in the sand, apathetic lumps who do not bother to get off their butts and VOTE!! Signing a petition at the grocery store is much easier than taking 15 minutes out of your day to cast a ballot. So, yes, I do worry there will be an aire of complacency and we will be right back where we started.

Keep in mind I am glass half empty kind of gal…hell, in my experience the glass is often bone dry. So you will have to forgive my poo-poo attitude. There are plenty of great people who are quite confident this endeavor will see a favorable conclusion. And I hate to stomp on their joyous day. So I will leave them with a raised glass, a big ole “atta boy!” and a wholehearted “CHEERS”!! But I will still worry.

Heather Rayne Geyer January 18, 2012 at 04:12 PM
Something else I have been thinking about... With over 1 million signature...they would have to discount over 400k to void the recall. That is impossible. So...with everyone supposedly worried about all the cost...why friggin' bother??!! There is no way they are going to be able to cancel out 400k signatures, so WHY SPEND THE MONEY? Just a thought.
Heather Rayne Geyer January 18, 2012 at 04:13 PM
And DANG - how did my story go to the bottom of the page ALREADY??!! Gesh...lol
mau January 18, 2012 at 07:57 PM
So why spend all the money on the recalls. to overthrow the legitimate election of all those Republicans targeted. Like the anti-walker group has no big money behind them. Give me a break. I hope Walker ties up this whole fiasco. And that all the elections are staggered, all over the summer months, so it costs all the voting precincts in the state millions and millions of dollars. It will be worth all that tax money that will be diverted from schools, services and social programs etc., to pay for it.
Karen Itzenhuiser January 18, 2012 at 08:06 PM
If everyone that signed the recall petition 'signed it twice' or falsified a recall vote by using another name (Bugs Bunny) then there would only be 1/2 of that 1 million signatures that are legal recall votes. Hmmmm....
James R Hoffa January 18, 2012 at 08:16 PM
@HRG - You do realize that Democrats are just as capable, if not more so, of doing the exact same things that you now chastise Walker for doing, right? After all, which side of the political aisle was it that spent over $1B in the last presidential election, outspending the other side by an almost 3:1 margin? Hmmm….. I managed to catch Walker on this morning's Fox & Friends before work. He openly acknowledged that there are probably more than enough valid signatures to trigger a recall election and has no qualms about defending his record. " And as we all know, sometimes money speaks louder than voices." But only voices can vote - money can't. Wasn't this just solidified by Rick Santorum's amazing finish in the Iowa caucuses? "Lawsuits and complaints are sure to be in abundance." Much in the same way the Wisconsin Dems attempted to disqualify the attempted recall of three of their party member state senators, yes? "There are countless stories of people who have been denied cards due to the inability to retrieve original birth certificates." In all honest reality, there are just as many stories of alleged and/or verified cases of voter fraud out there, right?
James R Hoffa January 18, 2012 at 08:17 PM
"Many counties do not have DMVs with reasonable service hours." Even Politifact has rated this leftist talking point as being completely FALSE. "Walker’s administration is initiating rumors that petition signers will have their names and info plastered on public websites in order to punish them with threats of privacy invasions." Ummm.. you may want to check your link, as the story there asserts that Walker backers are doing this, and not the Walker 'administration.' " Walker’s administration has tried to push for an early start to the redistricting maps so the numbers will favor them prior to the recall elections." Not sure how redistricting would affect anything in a state-wide election. Perhaps you're referring more to the senatorial recalls with this? And you don't think that the Dems would be doing the same thing if the situation were reversed? Come on now, be honest here.
James R Hoffa January 18, 2012 at 08:21 PM
" Walker’s administration can afford to invade our living rooms with constant television ads full of his own chest thumping and over blown lies." Just as the public sector unions and the Dems have proven and shown that they can do the exact same thing, right? Again, it's people that vote, not TV commercials. And everyone that already shares your convictions will not be influenced in the slightest by those ads, just as the lefty ads won't be effective in influencing any of the hard-liner conservatives. So essentially, you have a pretty level playing field, do you not? So what exactly is it again that you're complaining about? BTW - I'd like to invite to check out the newest installment of Hoffa's Retro Cinema Club if haven't done so already. This installment features a spotlight on filmmaker Charles Band and looks at his 'Meridian: Kiss of the Beast' (1990). http://mountpleasant.patch.com/blog_posts/hoffas-retro-cinema-club-film-maker-spotlight-on-charles-band-ft-meridian-kiss-of-the-beast-1990 Cheers!
GearHead January 18, 2012 at 08:59 PM
Why bother? Because your side has a demonstrated history of vote fraud and registration fraud, that's why. Is it a stretch to suggest there will be notable pettition fraud as well? Perhaps not enough to nip the recall effort in the bud, but without verifying the signatures, this fraud won't come to light. How conveniant! You won't be so delighted having participated in such a noble effort tainted by fraud, would you?
Dennis January 18, 2012 at 11:19 PM
Well, here's an idea...if the Democrats would win the recall election then the Republicans only have to collect a million false signatures for another recall election in 2113 and they would not have to be verified. We could do this all year long, just recall one official after another if no ones going to check. Your argument is absurd.
Jerry Person January 19, 2012 at 06:03 AM
Walker is moving Wisconsin forward; In 1920 Moscow did not allow due process the ruler did anything he wanted too. The law was only for the people not the dictator. In 1920 Moscow had voter suppression. In 1920 Moscow did not allow freedom to assemble. In 1920 Moscow did not allow free speech. In 1920 Moscow all of Stalin’s followers were allowed to bare arms. In 1920 Moscow they had thousands of political prisoners. In 1920 Moscow was one party rule. In 1920 Moscow they had slave labor and wages. In 1920 Moscow healthcare was a myth for most. In 1920s Moscow liberty and justice was a myth. It was all about conviction rates to make the Dictator happy. In 1920`s Moscow the Dictator robbed from the poor people and destroyed the countryside for personal gain. In 1920`s Moscow the dictator sold state properties for personal gain and a complete loss to the state. I am sorry. The date is 2012 in Madison not Moscow. They are the things Walker did to move Wisconsin forward to the roaring twenties like in Stalin’s Moscow. The place David Koch’s father grew up and made his first millions building power plants for Uncle Josef Stalin. Walker has plan and as he said. It is working..
Jerry Person January 19, 2012 at 06:04 AM
"Education without values, as useful as it is, seems rather to make man a more clever devil" "The safest road to hell is the gradual one - the gentle slope, soft underfoot, without sudden turnings, without milestones, without signposts" - C. S. Lewis
Jerry Person January 19, 2012 at 06:09 AM
Wisconsin has had a few cases of voter fraud. They have all been in Wakehsa county in the county clerks office. In The supreme court recount the investigators found that 22,000 more votes were counted than cast. It allowed BJ Van Hollen to beat Kathleen Falk to be the Wisconsin attorney general. It was realized it was passed the statute of limitations so she was not charged. She was not removed because she is a GOP controlled county. She was Walker and Prossers aid as Wisconsin assemblymen in the 1990s.
Jerry Person January 19, 2012 at 06:12 AM
BUT there are 300,000 species of living organisms yet to be classified, and while most of these are insects and germs, this does not COMPLETELY rule out the Tea Party Patriots. Some are germs and some insects, why others will are just plants.
Jerry Person January 19, 2012 at 06:13 AM
Webster’s Dictionary says: To change what is norm for personal, political or religious reasons is an act of perversion. GOP good old per?
Brian Dey January 19, 2012 at 01:54 PM
Jerry- Your post would be funny if it weren't laden with outright lies. $80 to $100k in salary and benefits is hardly slave labor. Voter ID is not voter suppression unless you have something to hide like the 30 votes cast from Lena Taylor's rental property. Everyone has the right to bear arms (and go sleeveless if they want), not just Walker supporters. The people of Wisconsin voted for one party, it wasn't taken from them and buy written proof, the unions knew in advance of the election that they would not be able to hold employees hostage to union membership or dues. The workers all receive healthcare that is paid for by the taxpayer 87.5 cents on every dollar and a lucrative pension that is paid by the taxpayer 94.4 cents of every dollar. Sorry that is reality.
Jerry Person January 19, 2012 at 02:50 PM
Brian Dey. Lets stick to facts not your lies. Most people in Wisconsin. Most work for minimuim wage. Most have no healthcare and yesterday walker decided torturing the seniors and children is more exciting than healthcare. Read the post websters says it best. To chjange what is norm for personal political or religous reasons is an act of perversion. Anyone who does not support child healthcare is not from this planet. Not Good or God fearing. "Education without values, as useful as it is, seems rather to make man a more clever devil" "The safest road to hell is the gradual one - the gentle slope, soft underfoot, without sudden turnings, without milestones, without signposts" - C. S. Lewis Now I must ask if walkers dad was a catholic preast. Walker like to harm all the children he can. It is obvious our anti christ governor is one sick puppy.
CowDung January 19, 2012 at 03:12 PM
HRG: Why is it so 'impossible' that 400k signatures could be rejected? It seems every bit as possible as the recallers collecting 1 million signatures in 60 days...
Jerry Person January 19, 2012 at 04:42 PM
Cow dung you could be correct. The GOP controlled GAP who walker appointed and the GOP judge who ordered that only walkers groups can help. If you expact walker to do the honest honorable thing we are talking about two different people. This is walkers recall: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G15gcAAS3Yw. Listen to walkers speech.
Dennis January 19, 2012 at 04:46 PM
Your union buddies just want to stomp out all the bugs (tea party) in the world so they can rule. Just remember that it is the bugs that pollinate the plants that supply you with food. Once you stomp them all out the free food you are now getting from the government will be gone. Why don't you just get a job, or aren't you qualified for any jobs in industry? The only place you will get a job for $25/hr sweeping floors is in government, and we're not hiring. Now get off the union website and stop all the bs you are quoting.
Dennis January 19, 2012 at 04:57 PM
Jerry, you should use "spell check" when writing. Your education may be preventing you from getting a job that pays $25/hr. This is not the governments fault. Note too that the governors name is spelled "Walker" not "walker".
conservachick January 19, 2012 at 05:22 PM
Why do unions get to pick the candidate? Capitol Report: Unions busy behind the scenes vetting candidates to take on Walker Read more: http://host.madison.com/ct/news/local/govt-and-politics/capitol-report/capitol-report-unions-busy-behind-the-scenes-vetting-candidates-to/article_db50f24a-4073-11e1-a549-001871e3ce6c.html#ixzz1jvSTQ5kg "In the end," he (Erpenbach) adds, "what the Democrats will need to do is give people a reason why they shouldn't vote for Walker." Well, I thought the reason was collective bargaining. Are we changing the reason because we know the original reason won't fly?
Heather Rayne Geyer January 19, 2012 at 05:30 PM
The fact that you think the reason is collective bargaining shows me that you have been very selective in your reading. It is NOT the reason. It may be one part of the reason for SOME people...but not the whole reason and certainly not for everyone.
conservachick January 19, 2012 at 05:30 PM
"They will do anything and everything they can to impede this process and right now, like it or not, they have the reins and the cash." REEEEEEALLY?????? Like Democrats don't have cash. FLASHBACK Wisconsin Recall Elections: Record $44 Million Spent By Campaigns, Outside Groups The report found Democrats and their backers outspent Republicans $23.4 million to $20.5 million in this summer's recalls. "Outside groups outspent the candidates themselves $34.5 million to $8 million. The advantage for Democrats also was seen in outside spending, as they generated $18.6 million compared to $15.9 million for Republicans."
conservachick January 19, 2012 at 05:46 PM
I don't usually read HuffPo, but even they wrote it... "The drive to collect an average of 9,000 signatures a day, fueled by anger over Walker's successful push to take away nearly all public worker collective bargaining rights, began with pajama parties and other events after midnight." I read many articles similar to this, so sorry if that's the opinion I formed. http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2011/11/15/scott-walker-recall-wisconsin_n_1094469.html
CowDung January 19, 2012 at 05:58 PM
HRG: Why isn't this about collective bargaining? Isn't that what angered the masses last February? Avoiding that issue as a reason for the recalls makes me think that this is more of an issue of the Dems being sore losers...
Heather Asiyanbi (Editor) January 19, 2012 at 06:44 PM
I have a friend who lives in Madison and she participated in the protests because of the cuts to Medicare and to education, not because of collective bargaining. These are the same reasons she signed the petitions so there are people who are interested in recall for reasons completely separate from collective bargaining, though, to be honest, aside from this one friend of mine, I have no idea what those numbers are.
Dennis January 19, 2012 at 07:27 PM
Doesn't your friend in Madison know that Medicare is a federal program? I think she should sign a recall petition for Obama as this is his area.
CowDung January 19, 2012 at 08:00 PM
I bet that she didn't protest over Doyle's cuts to education (which were much larger than Walkers). She probably also doesn't realize that Walker increased state spending on Medicare by $1.2 billion. The Feds cut funding for the program by $1.7 billion, but Walker gets the blame for cutting it by $500 million.
Heather Rayne Geyer January 19, 2012 at 08:57 PM
A new reason every. single. day. http://www.cbsnews.com/8301-505245_162-57361562/walker-turning-down-$37-million-for-health-care/
Dennis January 19, 2012 at 09:26 PM
If you read the story you might notice that this $37 million is directly connected to Obama Care. Accepting this before the Supreme Court rules on the constitutionality of Obama Care would send the message that Wisconsin will accept Obama Care. Don't get too excited when Washington offers "free money" because it is going to cost you in the end. Wait for the Supreme Court ruling and then see what is offered (ha-ha). Remember what happened to Adam when he was offered a free apple.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something